Members of the Committee of Experts

[Leer la versión española]


1. Lieven Denys is a professor of European and International Tax Law at the Law School of the Free University of Brussels. Vice-Chair of the Centre for Tax Law of the University, he is member of the Brussels Bar and works as a lawyer in international tax law. He sits as Judge-substitute at the Court of Appeal of Brussels (Tax Chamber) and Assessor at the Supreme Administrative Court that advises Parliament and Government on the legality of draft legislation. Co-Author of an International Draft Treaty on Global Currency Transactions Tax (January 2002), debated in many international fora. He was asked by the Belgian Parliament to assist the Financial Committee in drafting the Belgian Tax law on Currency Transactions.

2. Professor Stephany Griffith-Jones is currently Executive Director of the Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia University, New York. An economist working on global capital flows, she has a special reference to flows to emerging markets, macro-economic management of capital flows in Latin America, Eastern Europe and sub-Saharan Africa. She has made proposals for international measures to diminish volatility of capital flows and reduce likelihood of currency crises, analysis of national and international capital markets. She has also prepared proposals for international financial reform.

3. Michael Izza took over as Chief Executive of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales in December 2006. He joined the ICAEW in January 2002 as Executive Director of Finance & Operations and a member of the ICAEW Board. Before joining the ICAEW, Michael worked at Spring Group plc where he ran Spring Skills, the largest vocational training business in the UK, subsequently becoming Group Finance Director and then Group Development and Strategic Planning Director. Since June 2008, Michael has Chaired the HM Treasury Valuation Panel, presiding over both the Northern Rock and Bradford and Bingley nominations. He qualified as a chartered accountant in 1986 with Coopers & Lybrand after graduating in law from Durham University.

4. Thore Johnsen is professor of finance at the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration. Professor Johnsen has numerous consulting and expert engagements for major Norwegian corporations and banks, and for Norwegian and Swedish Government ministries and agencies. He is board member of Finansfondet (government owned fund for providing risk capital to Norwegian banks), and member of a government appointed committee to evaluate the causes & regulatory implications of the credit crisis. Previously he has been a member of the Strategic Advisory Board for the Norwegian Petroleum Fund, and the control committee for the Norwegian Clearing House. Professor Johnsen has also been a special advisor for Den Norske Bank on their interbank Forex trade activities.

5. Inge Kaul is professor at the Hertie School of Governance, Berlin, Germany and advisor to various governmental, multilateral and non-profit organizations on issues of international cooperation finance, public-private partnerships and global-issue diplomacy. She was the first director of UNDP’s Human Development Report Office, and later director of UNDP’s Office of Development Studies. Inge Kaul is the author of numerous publications on international public economics and finance and the lead editor of Providing Global Public Goods; Managing Globalization and The New Public Finance; Responding to Global Challenges. Her current research focuses on institutional issues of global public goods provision, especially UN system reform and the future of multilateralism.

6. Mathilde Lemoine is member of the French « Economic analysis council » since 2008, and of the national economic commission and of the political economy society since 2007. She teaches at Sciences Po Paris (Institut d’études politiques). Mrs Lemoine was also counsellor for macroeconomy and fiscal issues at the Cabinet of the French Prime Minister, and technical counsellor in various ministerial cabinets, economist and secretary general of the Observatoire français des conjonctures économiques (OFCE). Mrs Lemoine is also Director of economic studies and market strategies at HSBC- France.

7. Avinash Persaud is Chairman of Intelligence Capital Ltd, a company specialised in analyzing, managing and creating financial liquidity in investment project and portfolios. He was managing director and global head of research at State Street Bank, and global head of currency and commodity research at JP Morgan. He was ranked within the top three of currency analysts in major international investor surveys between 1992 and 1999. Professor Persaud is co-chair of the OECD emerging market network. He is Deputy Chair of the Overseas Development Institute. He is a Visiting Fellow at the Judge Institute, University of Cambridge. In December 2008, he was appointed a Member of the UN Commission of Experts on International Financial Reform chaired by Prof Joseph Stiglitz.

8. Marcio Pochmann is president of the Institute of Applied Economic Research, of the Secretary of Strategic Matters, of the Presidency of the Brazilian Republic. Professor of social policies and labour markets at the UNICAMP since 1995, he has worked as a consultant with the Inter-Union Department of Statistics and Socioeconomic Studies, of the Brazilian Service for the Support of Small Businesses (SEBRAE) and international organizations of United Nations, including the International Labour Organization. Prof Pochmann was municipal Secretary for Development, Labour and Solidarity of São Paulo from 2001 to 2004. His book, The Decade of the Myths, won the Jabuti Prize in the economic field in 2002.

9. Kazuhiro Ueta is professor at the graduate school of economics and graduate school of global environmental studies of the Kyoto University. Previously, he has been guest scholar at the Center for Economic Studies, University of Munich/Ifo Institute and visiting professor at the University College Dublin. Professor Ueta has numerous professional activities, including editorships. Among others, he is president of SEEPS (Society for Environmental Economics and Policy Studies, Japan) since 2006, and he is associate Editor: Environmental Economics and Policy Studies. In 2006, he obtained a research award from the Society of Environmental Science, Japan. In 1993, the Japan Society of Public Utility Economics awarded him with the Society Encouragement Award of the Year.

8 December 2009

Printable version Printable version
XHTML valid | © All rights reserved - 2009